Where do you want to travel?

Travelbolg will lead you to famous domestic...


Venkateswara Temple


Sri Venkateswara Temple is situated in hill town at Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh. The temple is dedicated to lord vishnu. It is believed that lord vishnu have appeared here to save the mankind from Kali Yuga. Lord Venkateswara is also knwon by others names like Govinda, Balaji and the temple is known by others names like Tirupati Balaji Temple, Tirumala Temple. The hills on which the temple is situated are the part of Seshachalam Hills range at an elevation of 2,799 ft. As the hill comprises of Seven Peaks/Hills, the temple is located on the banks of Sri Swami Pushkarini on the seventh peak and covers about 26.75 sq km area. The temple is also reffered to as " Temple Of Seven Hills".


Three kings of different dynasty were committed devottees of Lord Venkateswara and they were Pallava Dynasty of Kanchipuram, Chola Dynasty of Thanjavur, and vijayanagra pradhans. The donation of diamonds and gold were given by the vijayanagara empire. After the decline of Vijayanagara empire , the leaders from state of Mysore gave ornaments and valuable to the temple. Sri Venkateswara temple administration and the others shrines were entrusted in the to Seva Dossji of the Hathiramji Mutt at Tirumala with the coming of Madras Presidency in the year 1843. Temple was under the mutt until the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) was established as a result of the TTD Act in 1932.

Temple Rituals

  • Daily Rituals : Daily sevas are done in the temple which includes Suprabhata Seva, Thomala Seva, Archana, Kalyanotsavam, Dolotsvam, Arjita Brahmotsavam, Arjita Vasantotsavam, Ekanta Seva, Sahasra Dipalankarana Seva.
  • Weekly Rituals : There are some sevas which done only in weekly days which include Vishesha Pooja on Monday, Ashtadala Pada Padmaradhana on Tuesday, Sahasra Kalasabhishekam on Wednesday, Tiruppavada Seva on thursday, Abhishekum and Nijapada Darshanam on Friday. There on no weekly seva on Saturday and Sunday.
  • Periodical Rituals : Periodical rituals include Jyesthabhishekam, Aaniwara Asthanam, Pavithrotsavam, Koil Alwar Tirumanjanam.

Seven Hills

The seven Hills represents the seven sages (Saptarishi), also known as Saptagiri. The seven hills are as follow :

  • Vrushabhadri – Hill of Nandi, vahana of lord Shiva.
  • Anjanadri — Hill of Lord Hanuman.
  • Neeladri – Hill of Neela Devi.
  • Garudadri or Garudachalam – Hill of Garuda, vahana of lord Vishnu.
  • Seshadri or Seshachalam – Hill of Sesha, dasa od lord Vishnu.
  • Naraynadri – Hill of Narayana.
  • Venkatadri – Hill of Lord Venkateswara.

Nearby Temple to Visit

  • Sri Padmavati Temple - dedicated to padmavati, wife of Venksteswara.
  • Sri Kalahasteeswara - dedicated to Lord Shiva representing "vayu" from the element of nature.
  • Sri Varasidhi Vinayaka Temple - dedicated to lord Vinayaka.
  • Govindaraja Temple - dedicated tolord Vishnu.
  • Kalyana Venkateswara Temple -  dedicated to lord Venkateswara.
  • Kodandarama Temple - dedicated to lord Rama.

Best time to Visit

Devotees can visit the temple in the months of October - Feburary.


  • In Summer the temperature at tirupati ranges from 45° C to 35° C.
  • In Winter the temperature at Tirupati ranges from 18° C to 10° C.

How to Reach

By Air - devotees can take flight to Tirupati Airport from other major cities of countries.

By Rail - There are three nearest junction through which devotees can reach the temple : Renigunta Junction, Tirupati Main, Anantarajupet

By Road - devotees can reach the temple by taking the direct buses from the other countries for Tirupati Bus Terminal.